The striker was recognized for his contributions to Barcelona’s championship season in Spain.

Asisat Oshoala, the captain of Nigeria and Barcelona, was honored as the 2022 African Women’s Player of the Year at the Caf Awards ceremony on Thursday in Rabat.

The 27-year-old won the honor ahead of Grace Chanda of Zambia and Ajara Nchout Njoya of Cameroon and Inter Milan (Zambia and BIIK Kazygurt).

With this, she surpasses Perpetua Nkwocha, who had won the honor four times, and becomes the first African to take home the prestigious award a record five times.

Oshoala’s 2021–22 season was possibly her greatest ever because she helped her Spanish team win the Spanish Women’s Super Cup, the Copa de la Reina, and the Primera Division.

Even though she missed a few games due to injury, she still managed to score 20 goals in 19 league games to tie Brazilian Geyse Ferreira for the league’s best scorer award. Ferreira scored the same number of goals for Madrid CFF in 27 appearances.

She scored impressive goals against Real Sociedad, Valencia, Villarreal, and Real Betis, including a hat-trick and a double.

She scored against Real Madrid in her lone outing in the Copa de la Reina.

Barcelona defeated 3-1 to Olympique Lyonnais at the Juventus Stadium in Turin, denying her team the opportunity to win a quadruple.

She made little of an impact internationally because she failed to score a goal for the Super Falcons throughout the time period under consideration.

To make matters worse, she strained her medial collateral ligament during Nigeria’s 2-1 loss to South Africa in Rabat, forcing her to withdraw from the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations 2022.

Following in the footsteps of Mercy Akide (2001), Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 & 2011), and Cynthia Uwak, Oshoala is the fourth Nigerian woman to win the women’s version of the prize (2006 & 2007).

Women’s Awards in Full

Club of the Year (Women) – Mamelodi Sundowns
Interclub Player of the Year (Women) – Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Young Player of the Year (Women) – Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Coach of the Year (Women) – Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.