The forward defeated Salah and Mendy to win his second African Player of the Year award, capping an incredible year.

Prior to Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy, Sadio Mane won the 2022 African Player of the Year award at the Caf Awards ceremony in Rabat on Thursday.

The Senegal international wins his second African Player of the Year award, joining El Hadji Diouf, Samuel Eto’o, Yaya Toure, and Mohamed Salah as the only other Africans to do so since the Caf took over the award’s administration in 1992.

Having been recognised as the best player on the continent, he is now two triumphs short of Eto’o and Toure – who both won the prize a record four times.

Mane had a fantastic 2021–22 season with Liverpool before leaving for Bayern Munich in a €41 million (£35 million/$43 million) deal. He contributed significantly to the Reds’ FA Cup and Carabao Cup victories as well as their finish as runners-up in the Uefa Champions League.

He scored five goals in the Champions League, two in the FA Cup, and 16 goals in the Premier League. He contributed 33 goals and 5 assists in total throughout the time under study.

On the international stage, Mane helped the Lions of Teranga win their first Africa Cup of Nations title by scoring the game-winning penalty against Egypt at Yaounde’s Olembe Stadium, sealing the victory after 120 minutes of scoreless play.

The 30-year-old had great play throughout the competition, scoring three goals and dishing out two assists to take home Player of the Competition honors.

His contributions were crucial in assisting the West Africans, who defeated Salah’s Pharaohs over two legs, to qualify for the 2022 Fifa World Cup.

Pape Matar Sarr of Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur won the Young Player of the Year award over Karim Konate of the Cote d’Ivoire and ASEC/RB Salzburg and Hannibal Mejbri of Tunisia and Manchester United.

Men’s Awards in Full

Club of the Year (Men) – Wydad Athletic Club
Interclub Player of the Year (Men) – Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)
Young Player of the Year (Men) – Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)
National Team of the Year (Men) – Senegal
Goal of the Year- Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)
Coach of the Year – (Men) – Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.