Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland: Their kingdom and Interesting facts about the rulers

Are there any kings in modern Nigeria? While the President is the political leader of the country, ethic groups have their own traditional rulers. Do you know the names of top 10 Obas in Yorubaland? They are the kings of the 21st century, and it is important for each Yoruba indigene and other Nigerians to find out more about these honourable men.

Read Also: Top 10 Richest Kings In Nigeria in 2021: Cars And Net Worth

10 first class Obas in Yorubaland

We should say that our list of traditional rulers in Nigeria is not a ranking! We just want to list the most famous traditional rulers who wear Yoruba crown now. Also, there is no particular order in our list of first class Obas.

1. Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi

Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi
Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi. Photo: @oaucruise

This well-known king became ruler of Ile Ifein 2015. This Oba has a big influence in the country, not only in Yorubaland. He obtained his primary and higher education in Ibadan. Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi studied accounting.

He was chosen as Oba from several candidates, and he is the current spiritual leader of Yoruba land.

2. Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III

Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland
Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III is one of Obas in Yorubaland. Photo: @ToluSadipe
Source: Twitter

The current Oba of Oyo town is Oba Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III. This traditional Yoruba ruler has 7 wives. He loves attending different events and enjoys boxing.

Being the Oba, he is also referred to as ‘emperor’, and his roots date back to the Oyo empire, which existed long time ago.

4. Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo III

Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland
Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo III is one of 10 Obas in Yorubaland. Photo: @APCUKingdom
Source: Twitter

Sons of Oduduwa rule across the whole Yorubaland that consists of different towns. Egbaland is one of such lands. Its current traditional ruler, Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo III, is also known as Oda or Alake of Egba.

He received his Yoruba crown in 2005 and had become a highly influential person in Nigeria ever since.

5. Oba Sikiru Kayode Adetona

Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland
Oba Sikiru Kayode Adetona is one of 10 Obas in Yorubaland. Photo: @SulaiOdus
Source: Twitter

While most traditional rulers in Nigeria are comparatively young, there are some exceptions. For example, Sikiru Kayode Adetona has been on the throne for nearly 60 years, and this makes ‘son of Oduduwa’ one of the kings who rule for the longest period.

Just like other first class Obas in Yorubaland, the king of Ijebu comes from a royal Anikilaya family. His full title is Awujale of Ijebu.

6. Oba Saliu Adetunji

Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland
Oba Saliu Adetunji is one of 10 Obas in Yorubaland. Photo: @Adebo_ogund
Source: Twitter

People who live in Ibadan know Oba Saliu Adtunji who is the forty-first Olubadan. His coronation was held 2 years ago, in 2016.

7. Oba Francis Adedoyin
Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland
Oba Francis Adedoyin is one of 10 Obas in Yorubaland. Photo: @NajeemFSalaam
Source: Twitter

The town of Modakeke in Osun State has its own king. His name is Francis Adedoyin.

Oba Francis Adedoyin became the king in 2009. It is curious that unlike other Yoruba Obas, Francis does not come from a royal family.

8. Oba Adesimbo Victor Kiladejo

Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland
Oba Adesimbo Victor Kiladejo is one of Obas in Yorubaland. Photo: @ODIRS_NG
Source: Twitter

Yoruba people who live in Ondo State have their Oba. His full name is Adesimbo Victor Kiladejo Adenrele Ademefun, but many know him shortly as Jilo III.

Oba Adesimbo was officially crowned in 2008. However, he received his royal title 2 years earlier. Oba Adesimbo is also a medical doctor. He studied medicine and surgery in Nigeria and Liverpool, UK.

9. Oba Aladetoyinbo Ogunlade Aladelusi

Top 10 Obas in Yorubaland
Oba Aladetoyinbo Ogunlade Aladelusi is among Obas in Yorubaland. Photo: @deji_of_lagos
Source: Twitter

Who is the king of the Akure Kingdom in Yorubaland? His full name is Aladetoyinbo Ogunlade Aladelusi (Odundun II). The traditional ruler holds the official title of Deji of Akure.


Odundun II became the Oba in 2015, and for the last three years, he is referred to as His Imperial Majesty.

10. Gabriel Adekunle Aromolaran II

Top 10 obas in Yorubaland: Gabriel Adekunle Aromolaran II
Gabriel Adekunle Aromolaran II. Photo: @UnknownNigeria

The town of Ilesa also called Ilesaland has its own king whose name is Gabriel Adekunle Aromolaran II. He has been the traditional ruler since 1982.

This land has a long list of notable Obas, who ruled here for many centuries. Oba Aromolaran II is a notable person as well. As a teacher, economist and author, he stands behind approximately 100 books.

These are the top 10 Obas in Yorubaland, who preserved the pre-colonial title and make the modern history of Nigeria more interesting and attractive for foreign visitors. Yoruba culture is rich, unique, and impressive.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.